BE-STEMM will feature three Leadership Summits

Inclusion and Belonging
will foster national conversations with and for Black Canadians in STEMM, facilitate networking, and highlight internships, fellowships, and career opportunities. It will comprise of 90-minute concurrent panels and feature partners from academia, industries, government ministries, healthcare professionals and funding bodies. 

Intersections of Blackness and Indigeneity will focus on approaches to inclusion that can be made in solidarity with Indigenous peoples, while acknowledging the complex identities and relationships that have existed historically and continue to inform our collective responses to our current context.

AfroFutures in STEMM will focus on the flow of Black youth into STEMM fields and sharing of insights and successes across siloed programs. Panellists from the United States and Canada will be featured in this sector. 

Leadership Keynotes

Dr. Malinda Smith

Vice Provost (Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion)
Associate Vice-President Research-EDI 
Professor, Political Science 
Office of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion
University of Calgary

Honourable Dr. Mayann Francis, ONS

Dr. El Jones

Nancy’s Chair in Women’s Studies Mount St. Vincent University

Click on the tabs below to see the speakers for each summit

Dr. Idris Bare

Cardiology fellow
University of Saskatchewan

Ms. Heather Campbell

Executive Director, Clean Technology, Albertaa

Dr. Imogen R. Coe

Faculty of Science
Ryerson University

Dr. Dalisizwe Dewa

Assistant Professor Cardiology
University of Saskatchewan

Dr.  Fanny Eugène

Fonds de recherche du Québec

Dr. Bryan Gaensler

Professor of Astronomy
Director of the Dunlap Institute for Astronomy and Astrophysics
University of Toronto

Dr. Danika Goosney

Research Grants and Scholarships Directorate

Dr. Julie I. Johnson

Program Director 
Division on Research and Learning at the National Science Foundation
New Alexandria, Virginia, United States

Victoria Kyeyune

Policy Advisor, Portfolio Coordination Secretariat, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Dr. Kelly Mack

Vice President for Undergraduate STEM Education
Executive Director of Project Kaleidoscope, AAC&U
Case Western Reserve University

Dr. Terrell R. Morton

Assistant Professor
Identity and Justice in STEM Education
University of Missouri-Columbia

Dr. Christopher Mpofu 

Clinical Associate Pediatric Oncology 
The University of Saskatchewan

Mr. Angelo Nwigwe  

Director Business Development · Mitacs
University of Calgary

Dr. Adebola Obayan

General Surgeon
University of Saskatchewan 

Dr. Emmanuel Osei

Assistant Professor in the department of Biology, University of British Columbia – Okanagan

Ms. Bibiana Pulido

Ph. D. Candidate
Centre de recherche interuniversitaire sur la mondialisation et le travail (CRIMT)
University of Montreal

Dr. Fiona Rawle 

Professor, Dept. of Biology, University of Toronto Mississauga

 Dr. Stephen M. Robbins 

Director, Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research                            Jewish General Hospital, Professor, Gerald Bronfman Department of Oncology at McGill University

Mr. Ziad Shadid

Assistant Chief Statistician and Chief Financial Officer
Corporate Strategy and Management Field 
Statistics Canada

Dr. Cécile Siewe 

Director General
Industrial Sectors & Chemicals Directorate
Environmental Protection Branch
Environment and Climate Change Canada

Ms. Angelin Soosaipillai

Vice President of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) at Mitacs.

Dr. Christine Williams

Executive Vice President and Head of Implementation Science, Ontario Institute for Cancer Research (OICR) ICR Institute Advisory Board Member

Dr. Lisa Willis 

Assistant Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB

Pathways: Connecting K-12 to postsecondary STEMM

Dr. Pemberton Cyrus

President, Imhotep's Legacy Academy

Karen Hudson 

Afreecentric Math Cohort

Dr. Marlene Ruck Simmonds

Executive Director, African Canadian Services Branch, Nova Scotia's Education Department

Sarah Upshaw 

Promoting Leadership in Health for African Nova Scotians (PLANS)


Dr. Jennifer D. Adams

Associate Professor,  University of Calgary

Dr. Bintou Ahidjo

Assistant Professor, University of British Columbia

Dr. Juliet Daniel 

Professor, McMaster University

Dr. Kevin Hewitt

Professor, Dalhousie University

Dr. Chonnettia Jones

Vice President, Research, Michael Smith Health Research BC

Dr. Erique Lukong

Professor, University of Saskatchewan

Dr. Erick D. McNair

Assistant Professor, University of Saskatchewan

Dr. Tagnon Missihoun

Assistant Professor, Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières

Dr. Toyib (Olan) Olaniyan 

Environmental Epidemiologist, Statistics Canada

Dr. Nicole Woods

Associate Professor, University of Toronto

Kim Tallbear

Professor, Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Peoples, Technoscience & Environment, University of Alberta

Ingrid R.G. Waldron

Professor & HOPE Chair in Peace & Health, Global Peace & Social Justice Program
Department of History, Faculty of Humanities

Ciann L. Wilson 

Associate Professor, Wilfrid Laurier University


Prof. Maydianne Andrade

Professor, University of Toronto Scarborough 

Erica Violet Lee  

Dr. Terrell R. Morton

Assistant Professor
Identity and Justice in STEM Education
University of Missouri-Columbia

Dr. Fikile Nxumalo

Assistant Professor, University of Toronto, OISE- Dept of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning


Dr. Jennifer D. Adams

Associate Professor,  University of Calgary

Dr. Kevin Hewitt

Professor Dalhousie University