Leadership Summit

BE-STEMM Beyond Borders is an initiative funded by a public diplomacy grant from the U.S. Embassy & Consulates in Canada. The grant fosters cross-border collaborations and sharing of promising practices for addressing racial equity in STEMM. BE-STEMM 2023 invites you to join the Beyond Border panelists and working group members as they facilitate dialogues about ways to foster racial equity in the following key sectors: Leadership, Policy, Post-secondary education, and K-University Pathways.

To learn more about BE-STEMM Beyond Borders click here.


Click on the tabs below to see the speakers for each summit

February 4th at 1:10PM

Dr. Sylvia M. Butterfield

Deputy Assistant Director
National Science Foundation (NSF) Directorate for STEM Education (EDU)


Dr. Stephen D. Alkins, Jr

Diversity, Equity, Access, Inclusion (and Belonging) Officer and Co-chair
DEAIB Council at TERC


Lydia-Joi Marshall

President of the Board of Directors
Black Health Alliance & CIHR Anti-Racism External Advisory Committee


Eden Hennessey

Inaugural Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Data Specialist
Wilfrid Laurier University and Research and Programs Director of the Laurier Centre for Women in Science

February 4th at 1:10PM

Dr. Jeremy A. Magruder Waisome

Assistant Professor
Department of Engineering Education, University of Florida 

Dr. Catherine L. Quinlan 

Associate Professor in Science Education Department of Curriculum and Instruction at Howard University

Walter Lee

Associate Professor Department of Engineering Education and Director for Research in the Center for the Enhancement of Engineering Diversity (CEED)

February 4th at 2:50PM

Dr. Eddia Solas

Assistant professor
Mount Saint Vincent University, Halifax, Nova Scotia


Dr. Natalie King

Associate Professor of Science Education 
Georgia State University, and Founder and Executive Director of I AM STEM, LLC.


Karen Hudson

Auburn Drive High School in Cole Harbour, Nova Scotia 


Dr. Terrell R. Morton

Assistant Professor, Identity and Justice in STEM Education 
University of Illinois Chicago, College of Education – Educational Psychology

February 4th at 2:50PM

Dr. Angelique C. Harris

Associate Dean for Diversity & Inclusion, Executive Director, Associate Professor 
Chobanian & Avedisian School of Medicine, Faculty Development for BU Medical Campus, Department of Medicine and in the Section, General Internal Medicine


Dr. Wisdom J. Tettey

FGA, Vice-President,  Principal, Professor
University of Toronto, Universty of Toronto Scarborough Campus, Department of Political Science and Department of Global Development Studies


Dr. Ninan Abraham

Department of Microbiology and Immunology; Department of Zoology University of British Columbia


Dr. Juliet Daniels

Cancer Biologist and the Associate Dean of Research and External Relations
McMaster University